Back to the Premier League Newsfeed

Referee Stuart Attwell told Fulham players Liverpool should NOT have been awarded a penalty for Issa Diop's foul on Darwin Nunez, claims Tom Cairney, with Mo Salah's spot kick handing Jurgen Klopp's side victory

Fulham captain Tom Cairney has claimed that referee Stuart Attwell admitted he made a mistake over Liverpool's match-winning penalty.

Liverpool clinched a narrow 1-0 victory over the Cottagers thanks to Mohamed Salah's 39th minute penalty.

The spot-kick had been awarded after Issa Diop was adjudged to have fouled Darwin Nunez as the striker sprinted to steal the ball from the Fulham defender.

Attwell pointed to the spot and VAR did not overturn the penalty, leaving Cairney and his Fulham team mates feeling aggrieved.

Cairney has now claimed that Attwell told one of his team mates that the wrong decision had been made.